Trekksoft_Twitter_Chats_Blog_Header_750x350px.png

10 travel Twitter chats to join in to help promote your tour or activity

Published by Colm Hanratty on Apr 15, 2015

In April 2010 I did something for the first time that I would end up doing a lot over the coming years – I got involved in a Twitter chat that was all about travel. The chat was called #TNI (Travelers Night In) and was a way to engage with other like-minded travellers from around the world. 


For weeks I took part in these Twitter chats to, if I’m honest, brag about all the places I’ve been to. Then I began to realise that they were a great way to engage with other travellers as a brand so I began to get involved behind a brand I was working with at the time.

Today these chats still take place and are still a great way to get the word out about your business. If you’re thinking of getting involved in one, here are the main ones to watch out for…and when.


1. #TNI (Travelers Night In)

TNIWhat is it? The original Twitter travel chat, first started in 2009 covering a wide range of travel topics
When is it? Thursdays at 12.30pm PST / 3.30pm EST / 8.30pm GMT
Who hosts it? Travel Writer Photog (@JeromeShaw) and others
Who will I meet there? North American travel bloggers, brands such as Lufthansa and Gogobot
How many tweets are generated in a chat? Between 500 and 800


2. #TTOT (Travel Talk on Twitter)

TTOTWhat is it? Twitter’s largest travel chat by a long way
When is it? Tuesdays 1.30am and 1.30pm PST / 4.30am and 4.30pm EST / 9.30am and 9.30pm GM
Who hosts it? Traveldudes.org (@traveldudes) and others
Who will I meet there? Lots of travel bloggers and like-minded travellers from all over the world
How many tweets are generated in a chat? Around 8,000


3. #RTWChat (Round-the-world chat)

bootsnallWhat is it? A Twitter chat that focuses on independent, round-the-world / long-term travel
When is it? Wednesdays at 12.30pm PST / 3.30pm EST / 8.30pm GMT
Who hosts it? Bootsnall.com (@bootsnall)
Who will I meet there? People interested in independent travel
How many tweets are generated in a chat? Between 400-50


4. #RTTC (Responsible Tourism Travel Chat)

rttcWhat is it? A travel chat that focuses on things to do with responsible travel – Flying and Carbon Offsetting, Fragile Environments and more.
When is it? Wednesdays at 10pm (on Tuesday) and 10am PST / 1am and 1pm EST / 6am and 6pm GMT
Who hosts it? Dtravelsround.com (@DTravelsRound) Thetravellingeditor.com (@Travelingeditor) and others
Who will I meet there? People who are interested in more than simply seeing the sights
How many tweets are generated in a chat? Between 400-700


5. #TripItChat

TripIt_icon_flatWhat is it? A Twitter chat from Tripit.com where all things travel related are covered
When is it? 3rd Thursday of each month at 2pm PST / 5pm EST / 10pm GMT
Who hosts it? Tripit.com (@Tripit), Landlopers.com (@Landlopers) and other prominent bloggers
Who will I meet there? Due to the reach of the hosts, anything from travel bloggers to general consumers engage in this chat
How many tweets are generated in a chat? Approximately 500


6. #LPChat

LpChatWhat is it? A travel chat from the godfather of travel guides Lonely Planet. Topics cover subjects such as family travel, budget travel, ‘new in travel’ and more
When is it? Intermittent times throughout the year (follow @lonelyplanet for details)
Who hosts it? Lonelyplanet.com (@LonelyPlanet), various guest hosts
Who will I meet there? Readers of Lonely Planet books and magazine
How many tweets are generated in a chat? Around 1,000

 

7. #Expediachat

expediaWhat is it? A regular travel chat from the people at Expedia.com
When is it? Wednesdays at 11am PST / 2pm EST / 7pm GMT
Who hosts it? @hiptravelmama and others
Who will I meet there? Hundreds of travellers and travel bloggers
How many tweets are generated in a chat? Around 1,500


8. #TravelSkills

travelskills_chatWhat is it? A chat that aims to help you improve your travel skills by focusing on topics such as maximizing your points earned from flying, saving money in cities and more.
When is it? Fridays at 9am PST / 12 noon EST / 5pm GMT
Who hosts it? Travelskills.com (@cjmcginnis) and Johnnyjet.com (@johnnyjet)
Who will I meet there? Travellers from all over the world
How many tweets are generated in a chat? Between 1,500 and 2,000


9. #TL_Chat

TLchatWhat is it? A chat that has a huge reach – the hosts have over a million followers
When is it? Tuesdays at 11am PST / 2pm EST / 7pm GMT
Who hosts it? Travelandleisure.com (@TravlandLeisure)
Who will I meet there? Readers of Travel and Leisure magazine, other fellow travellers
How many tweets are generated in a chat? Between 2,000 and 2,500


10. #NUTS (Not-so Usual Therapy Session)

What is it? One of Twitters more fun travel chats.
When is it? Tuesdays at 12.30pm PST / 3.30pm EST / 8.30pm GMT
Who hosts it? Midliferoadtrip.tv (@MidlifeRoadTrip)
Who will I meet there? North American travellers and travel bloggers
How many tweets are generated in a chat? Between 600 and 700


Have you joined a Twitter chat? Did it drive engagement for your tour or activity's Twitter account?

 Download our social media handbook for tour and activity companies

 

If you're looking to integrate a streamlined booking process with your website, get in touch:

Request your free TrekkSoft demo

 
Colm Hanratty

Published by Colm Hanratty

Colm is Founder and Managing Director of digital marketing agency Sixtwo Digital. After running Hostelworld.com’s content and social media for almost 11 years he felt it was time to branch out on his own, using all his experience to educate others in the travel space.

The ultimate booking solution for you

If you're a tour or activity company or a tourism board, we have the perfect plan for your business.

Get a Demo